February 23, 2018

About Us  |  Support

New York Alcohol Laws

New York Club

If you live in New York, you probably are familiar with many of the DUI laws in the state, but are you familiar with the laws governing the sale and purchase of beer, wine and liquor? If not, please read on to learn a little bit about the alcohol-related laws in the Empire State. If you’re visiting the great state of New York and the most oft-visited city in the world (New York City), then you may want to avail yourself of the city and state’s alcohol-related laws. If you find yourself in legal trouble while visiting or living in New York, please contact a New York criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Criminal charges should never be taken lightly, even if the charge itself does not seem very serious.

Alcohol Sales/Purchases in New York

From Monday to Saturday, you can sell and purchase beer 24 hours a day, but wine and liquor sales and purchases stop at midnight on those days. The same hours apply for beer on Sundays; however, on Sundays, wine and liquor sales can only be made between noon and 9:00 p.m. Bars in New York must close their doors at 2:00 regardless of the day of the week.

DUI in New York

There are a few different charges associated with DUI arrests in the state of New York. Here are the official charges related to drinking and driving in New York:

  • DWI (driving while intoxicated): Blood alcohol concentration of 0.08%
  • DWI for commercial drivers: BAC of 0.04%
  • Driving while ability impaired by alcohol (DWAI-Alcohol): BAC over 0.05% but under 0.07%
  • Aggravated DUI: 0.18% or higher
  • Refusing to take a chemical test
  • Zero tolerance violation: BAC of 0.02% to 0.07% if you’re under 21 years of age

DWI Penalties in New York

The severity of penalties depends on the specific DWI charge you get and any prior DWI or similar convictions on your driving record.

Penalties for most charges include:

  • Mandatory driver’s license revocation (or suspension): Minimum of six months to one year in some cases
  • Mandatory fine: $500-$1,000
  • Jail time (up to one year in some cases)

If you are arrested for an alcohol-related crime in New York, please contact a New York criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Your lawyer will explain your rights to you and work hard to minimize the severity of your penalties should you be convicted of DUI or some other offense related to alcohol.

About Lynn Fugaro

Lynn has been writing web content since 2007 after a lengthy career as a middle school English teacher and administrator. Writing web content seemed a natural progression following a career teaching adolescents about the beauty and the power of the written word, and she quickly got hooked on the challenge of writing SEO- and reader-friendly content that could be found on Page 1 of Google and other search engines.

Having written content for physicians and attorneys for the first few years of her writing career, Lynn has most recently produced original, informative, entertaining, and relevant content for the entertainment industry, the automotive industry, senior communities, pet rescues and numerous other businesses hoping to increase website traffic and page views for all clients looking for informative, vibrant content.